0 votes
881 vues

How does an administrator delete a user from the PT Registry? Against each user in the Registry, I only see a View button.

This would be useful:

  • When a user permanently leaves all translation projects they’re involved in;
  • When for any reason a new ID is created for a user, and the old one is no longer needed.
Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine
Paratext par (1,4k points)
réaffiché | 881 vues

3 Réponses

0 votes
Meilleure réponse

It is actually possible to delete a user from the Registry, once the user has been removed from all Paratext 8 projects. However, to do that, you need to have an administrative role in the organisation that the user is listed under.

The user can also remove their own account (again, once they have been removed from all projects in Paratext) by going to the Settings page (which can be found by clicking their name in the top-right corner) and clicking the big red button at the bottom of the page.

The feature whereby users can change their registration name will hopefully be pushed to the live server next weekend.

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine
par (1,0k points)

So how do I get an “administrative role”? (NB I live in the SIL world.)

That’s really useful to know.

If a user changes their registration name, what will happen to the record of their changes in the Project History of the projects they belong to?

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine

If a user changes their registration name, what will happen to the record of their changes in the Project History of the projects they belong to?

The old name will remain in the project history unless a project administrator uses Convert Project to create a new project with old name(s) replaced.

We recently implemented a name-changing feature and I believe you’ll see it in the production website very soon. At that point, to learn more, anyone can go to their profile page in the Registry and pretend to start to change their own name. The dialog will show some information and will link to an online Help page. Both links in the screenshot below go to that page.

image

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine

Contact an existing administrator in your organisation about this, such as Doug Higby.

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine

In the third bullet point in the information box you included, can I suggest that the old username – in this case “anon468618” – should be in bold, as it is elsewhere in the box.

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine
0 votes

I think the idea is that the user will not ever be deleted, but might lose permissions for doing stuff (i.e. be removed off of projects they were on or removed as a member from an organization).

There is an upcoming feature where users can change their registration names (currently in the testing phase) so this shouldn’t be an issue going forward.

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine
par [Expert]
(16,7k points)
0 votes

Updated the title of this thread to reflect the topics being discussed.

Ancienne publication - affichée dans sa langue d'origine
par (1,4k points)

Questions connexes

0 votes
1 réponse 424 vues
I am unable to create a new user in the registry for some reason. Here is the error that I get. Capture.PNG1125 ... KB I hope this issue is resolved soon because we are blocked!
anon111557 105 posée juin 11, 2019
0 votes
0 réponses 302 vues
A little earlier I changed the Registration Information for a user: The username was: Samuel Davis (this is a ... Information did include an email address. This is also strange.
wdavidhj 1,4k posée août 26, 2019
0 votes
1 réponse 771 vues
How can I delete a project in registry.paratext.org that is no longer needed?
dcb 194 posée mars 28, 2024
0 votes
6 réponses 858 vues
I was trying to delete a user from the PT8 Registry yesterday, but at the last screen, where you get the chance to ... so that our users can get back to their translation work .
wdavidhj 1,4k posée févr. 13, 2018
0 votes
3 réponses 718 vues
I deleted the user's folder under the PT9 Proj folder, but it still opens as registered to the old user. How do I ... installed. I do not yet have the new user's registration info.
listentwice 1,2k posée nov. 27, 2019
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.
Romans 12:16
3,044 questions
6,003 réponses
5,671 commentaires
2,026 utilisateurs