0 votos
882 vistas

How does an administrator delete a user from the PT Registry? Against each user in the Registry, I only see a View button.

This would be useful:

  • When a user permanently leaves all translation projects they’re involved in;
  • When for any reason a new ID is created for a user, and the old one is no longer needed.
Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
Paratext por (1,4k puntos)
mostrada de nuevo | 882 vistas

3 Respuestas

0 votos
Mejor respuesta

It is actually possible to delete a user from the Registry, once the user has been removed from all Paratext 8 projects. However, to do that, you need to have an administrative role in the organisation that the user is listed under.

The user can also remove their own account (again, once they have been removed from all projects in Paratext) by going to the Settings page (which can be found by clicking their name in the top-right corner) and clicking the big red button at the bottom of the page.

The feature whereby users can change their registration name will hopefully be pushed to the live server next weekend.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por (1,0k puntos)

So how do I get an “administrative role”? (NB I live in the SIL world.)

That’s really useful to know.

If a user changes their registration name, what will happen to the record of their changes in the Project History of the projects they belong to?

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

If a user changes their registration name, what will happen to the record of their changes in the Project History of the projects they belong to?

The old name will remain in the project history unless a project administrator uses Convert Project to create a new project with old name(s) replaced.

We recently implemented a name-changing feature and I believe you’ll see it in the production website very soon. At that point, to learn more, anyone can go to their profile page in the Registry and pretend to start to change their own name. The dialog will show some information and will link to an online Help page. Both links in the screenshot below go to that page.

image

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

Contact an existing administrator in your organisation about this, such as Doug Higby.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

In the third bullet point in the information box you included, can I suggest that the old username – in this case “anon468618” – should be in bold, as it is elsewhere in the box.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
0 votos

I think the idea is that the user will not ever be deleted, but might lose permissions for doing stuff (i.e. be removed off of projects they were on or removed as a member from an organization).

There is an upcoming feature where users can change their registration names (currently in the testing phase) so this shouldn’t be an issue going forward.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por [Expert]
(16,7k puntos)
0 votos

Updated the title of this thread to reflect the topics being discussed.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por (1,4k puntos)

Preguntas relacionadas

0 votos
1 respuesta 429 vistas
I am unable to create a new user in the registry for some reason. Here is the error that I get. Capture.PNG1125 ... KB I hope this issue is resolved soon because we are blocked!
anon111557 105 preguntada jun 11, 2019
0 votos
0 respuestas 304 vistas
A little earlier I changed the Registration Information for a user: The username was: Samuel Davis (this is a ... Information did include an email address. This is also strange.
wdavidhj 1,4k preguntada ago 26, 2019
0 votos
1 respuesta 772 vistas
¿Cómo puedo eliminar un proyecto en registry.paratext.org que ya no se necesita?
dcb 194 preguntada mar 28, 2024
0 votos
6 respuestas 862 vistas
Ayer intentaba eliminar un usuario del Registro de PT8, pero en la última pantalla, donde se tiene la oportunidad ... nuestros usuarios puedan volver a su trabajo de traducción .
wdavidhj 1,4k preguntada feb 13, 2018
0 votos
3 respuestas 719 vistas
I deleted the user's folder under the PT9 Proj folder, but it still opens as registered to the old user. How do I ... installed. I do not yet have the new user's registration info.
listentwice 1,2k preguntada nov 27, 2019
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it.
Matthew 16:18
3,045 preguntas
6,005 respuestas
5,671 comentarios
2,026 usuarios