0 votos
383 vistas

I have a user who is not a project admin who is showing that he made changes to the user Roles and Permissions. Talking to the user, all that he did was open the Roles and Permissions screen. As he is not allowed to make any changes, he did not. But in the Send/Receive report for Recent Changes it shows that he did.

image

You will also note that it says that he made changes to the Progress and Renderings. Again, he just went in to view the Progress and Renderings.

There are two issues here. First, it would be good to fix whatever is showing recent changes to not show changes if no changes were in fact made. Second, for things like Roles and Permissions it would be helpful if the Recent Changes screen showed what changes were made just like you can see what changes were made to a given chapter or verse.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
Paratext por (105 puntos) | 383 vistas

1 Respuesta

0 votos
Mejor respuesta

If it is listed in that list, then there was a change. However, it does a byte-by-byte comparison, so it might have just been a space or something else insignificant that changed.

If the project is not sensitive, could you give us the name (or just send me a PM with the information) so we can see what’s going on?

Note also, that in Paratext 8 (you didn’t mention the Paratext version), the Roles and Permissions can change automatically via Project Progress. This will happen even if they don’t have “permission” to change it if they are assigned certain tasks.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por [Expert]
(16,7k puntos)

I am aware that a change in Project Progress can make a change in Roles and Permissions. In this case, the user did not make any changes in the progress. I am also aware that it is looking at byte level changes. When I went in and looked project progress and Roles and Permissions on my computer I kept an eye on the file system and no files seemed to have been changed.

I’ll PM you with the name of the project.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

I looked at the project. The reason for the changes is the removal of the byte order mark (BOM) during a file merge. I thought we had fixed this in 7.6, but it seems to have come back. I’ll write it up.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

thank you for your help.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

Preguntas relacionadas

0 votos
1 respuesta 362 vistas
Hi, I was recently added to a project as an observer, but when I look at the project Users Roles and permissions page, ... , and do I now need to have a different role? Thanks
BEH 418 preguntada mar 5, 2019
0 votos
1 respuesta 331 vistas
In the last couple of days I have noticed that I am not able to make any changes to the roles and permissions on ... add a user to a BT project without any difficulty. Thanks BEH
BEH 418 preguntada sep 1, 2017
0 votos
1 respuesta 315 vistas
Se incluyen en el historial de PT los archivos que contienen los roles y permisos de usuario? Más específicamente: si ... real , incluso sin hacer ningún cambio en el proyecto.
[Moderator]
james_post
2,1k
preguntada dic 9, 2021
0 votos
1 respuesta 257 vistas
I have now set up Users, Roles and Permissions for my standard translation project and its back translation project as they should ... 0.0.10292-Linux package [paratext-8.0, 1.47]
Roland 245 preguntada ene 4, 2020
0 votos
2 respuestas 891 vistas
Editing permissions are copied from Paratext 7 to Paratext 8 during migration. This can potentially cause problems ... Permissions can interact and use the appropriate caution.
[Expert]
Jeff_Shrum
2,9k
preguntada may 9, 2017
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble.
1 Peter 3:8
3,048 preguntas
6,007 respuestas
5,672 comentarios
2,028 usuarios