0 votos
860 vistas

Editing permissions are copied from Paratext 7 to Paratext 8 during migration. This can potentially cause problems if a project plan is used to manage permissions after migration. The editing permissions that are set in Users, Roles and Permissions override the attempts of the project plan to give and take away permissions as work on the translation project progresses. The potential exists for more than one person having editing permission for the same verse. It is recommended that the permissions in Users Roles and Permissions be set to none when a project plan is used. At the very least, administrators should be aware of how project plans and Users, Roles and Permissions can interact and use the appropriate caution.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
Paratext por [Expert]
(2,9k puntos)

mostrada de nuevo | 860 vistas

2 Respuestas

0 votos
Mejor respuesta

It is somewhat different for a Back Translation project linked to a project. In the Project Plan you cannot give permission to edit the BT and you don’t want to give permission to edit the translation itself, because the person doing the BT is different from the translator for that book. In the Assignment of tasks, you can assign the preparing of a BT for a book to a certain person but that does not give this person editing rights to that book. This has to be done through the main User Roles and Permissions for the BT project. Whether this is by design I do not know.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por (869 puntos)

Okay, I see. The bug is that assigning a back translation check to a user gives them edit permissions for the main project. I’ll write it up.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

It seems to me that if the following setting is used in the Project Plan, a person is not given editing privileges for the base project when he is assigned a task for the Back Translation.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

Thanks, I had already done that for every task. The problem is not from the Project Plan, but from the assignment of the check Back Translation Status Complete.
I can manage it by keeping that particular check unassigned.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

Based on this screen capture, then Iver+Larsen has found a bug.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

He did find a bug and I’ve written it up (see my previous post).

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
0 votos

If you would like to manage the permissions manually and still have a project plan, you can make the Requires Editing field for all tasks be No. This will keep the project plan from changing the book permissions.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original
por [Expert]
(16,7k puntos)

Yes, this is possible, but would take away one of the advantages of using a project plan. I know of at least one team where the team leader gives every team member permission for everything. The combinations are many. I want to encourage what is the use case we expect most teams to follow.

Publicación antigua - se muestra en su idioma original

Preguntas relacionadas

0 votos
2 respuestas 264 vistas
I was mid-way through creating a project plan for a test project, and I created a BT so that I could enable editing ... in Project Plan window. Is the BT supposed to show up?
listentwice 1,2k preguntada abr 2, 2018
0 votos
1 respuesta 311 vistas
Se incluyen en el historial de PT los archivos que contienen los roles y permisos de usuario? Más específicamente: si ... real , incluso sin hacer ningún cambio en el proyecto.
[Moderator]
james_post
2,1k
preguntada dic 9, 2021
0 votos
1 respuesta 252 vistas
I have now set up Users, Roles and Permissions for my standard translation project and its back translation project as they should ... 0.0.10292-Linux package [paratext-8.0, 1.47]
Roland 245 preguntada ene 4, 2020
0 votos
1 respuesta 357 vistas
Hi, I was recently added to a project as an observer, but when I look at the project Users Roles and permissions page, ... , and do I now need to have a different role? Thanks
BEH 418 preguntada mar 5, 2019
0 votos
1 respuesta 374 vistas
I have a user who is not a project admin who is showing that he made changes to the user Roles and Permissions. ... can see what changes were made to a given chapter or verse.
anon001624 105 preguntada nov 1, 2017
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had.
Romans 15:5
3,046 preguntas
6,006 respuestas
5,671 comentarios
2,026 usuarios