0 votes
269 views

For projects already uploaded via Send/Receive, why is there now a message that “Paratext sent the entire project?”

Is this information (that the entire project got uploaded) helpful for users?

image

Paratext by [Expert]
(375 points)
| 269 views

1 Answer

0 votes
Best answer

That message should only appear when the project does not exist on the server and the user is sending the entire project history to the server. Subsequent S/R’s should show a summary of what changed instead.

If you are seeing that message after the project already exists on the S/R server, then that sounds like a bug. Note that when doing a S/R for the first time for a newly migrated project, you are, indeed, sending the entire project to the S/R server since the PT7 and PT8 S/R servers are separate.

Whether it’s “helpful” for users is another matter. I would argue, at the very least, it’s much more helpful than what used to happen - which is you’d get a “here’s what changed” message for the entire project history. :smile:

by [Expert]
(16.6k points)

I am 100% certain I got this message today from projects that have been on the Pt8 S/R server for at least one month. I tested this with 4 shared projects (3 standard and 1 consultant notes) and the same message appeared with each.

The message only occurs once. If I do S/R again (with or without changes) the “entire project sent” does not appear. The messaging goes back to the standard message.

Has there been a significant change to the PT8 server or DBL in the past month?

There are two messages - one for sending the entire project and one for receiving the entire project. Are you sure it’s saying that they were sent and not received (i.e. is it marked as “New” on the S/R dialog)? Are you sure they already existed on the S/R server (i.e. is it marked as “Edited” on the S/R dialog)? Are you maybe doing a S/R to a non-internet source that didn’t have the project before?

I’m sorry to question you, but looking at the code, it doesn’t look like there is any way for you to get that message without it creating a brand new project on the server (which would result in an error if the project already existed). And the fact that you say it only happens once per project says to me that it’s working correctly.

Nope

Related questions

0 votes
2 answers 247 views
Hi there, We are working on a translation that has an associated back translation project. Today a translator I ... affect send/receive for the translation itself? Thanks, Mike
anon375437 120 asked Nov 19, 2019
0 votes
6 answers 486 views
One system gets the message at every starting of Paratext. The message also says, access to path is denied. There is no ... is no BYZ project in the PT8 or PT7 project list.
listentwice 1.2k asked Feb 7, 2019
0 votes
1 answer 285 views
I have an system where I set up a project to be regularly Send/Received called tagBB17, but then I deleted the ... there anyway to turn off scheduled Send/Receive for this project?
Kent Spielmann 1.8k asked Jun 14, 2018
0 votes
2 answers 377 views
Hi, The send/receive window (under File - Send/receive Projects) suddenly doesn't find any projects, even the MTT ... Win 10, latest version. Any help will be appreciated Thanks
anon984740 109 asked Feb 8, 2018
0 votes
2 answers 248 views
Every time you do an S/R, PT displays a Changes Sent and Received window, and it doesn't force you to close it in ... : click to vote for me to submit a Feature Request for this!
wdavidhj 1.4k asked Sep 6, 2018
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!
Psalm 133:1
3,037 questions
5,994 answers
5,661 comments
2,022 users