0 votes
276 views

For projects already uploaded via Send/Receive, why is there now a message that “Paratext sent the entire project?”

Is this information (that the entire project got uploaded) helpful for users?

image

Paratext by [Expert]
(375 points)
| 276 views

1 Answer

0 votes
Best answer

That message should only appear when the project does not exist on the server and the user is sending the entire project history to the server. Subsequent S/R’s should show a summary of what changed instead.

If you are seeing that message after the project already exists on the S/R server, then that sounds like a bug. Note that when doing a S/R for the first time for a newly migrated project, you are, indeed, sending the entire project to the S/R server since the PT7 and PT8 S/R servers are separate.

Whether it’s “helpful” for users is another matter. I would argue, at the very least, it’s much more helpful than what used to happen - which is you’d get a “here’s what changed” message for the entire project history. :smile:

by [Expert]
(16.7k points)

I am 100% certain I got this message today from projects that have been on the Pt8 S/R server for at least one month. I tested this with 4 shared projects (3 standard and 1 consultant notes) and the same message appeared with each.

The message only occurs once. If I do S/R again (with or without changes) the “entire project sent” does not appear. The messaging goes back to the standard message.

Has there been a significant change to the PT8 server or DBL in the past month?

There are two messages - one for sending the entire project and one for receiving the entire project. Are you sure it’s saying that they were sent and not received (i.e. is it marked as “New” on the S/R dialog)? Are you sure they already existed on the S/R server (i.e. is it marked as “Edited” on the S/R dialog)? Are you maybe doing a S/R to a non-internet source that didn’t have the project before?

I’m sorry to question you, but looking at the code, it doesn’t look like there is any way for you to get that message without it creating a brand new project on the server (which would result in an error if the project already existed). And the fact that you say it only happens once per project says to me that it’s working correctly.

Nope

Related questions

0 votes
2 answers 412 views
I am supporting a partner who cannot view their translation project even after receiving it through send/receive. He has ... walking home to his remote village in about 6 hours.
Ben Pehrson 280 asked Feb 9, 2024
0 votes
2 answers 260 views
Hi there, We are working on a translation that has an associated back translation project. Today a translator I ... affect send/receive for the translation itself? Thanks, Mike
anon375437 120 asked Nov 19, 2019
0 votes
2 answers 276 views
We have a glossary in Tok Pisin, PNG's main LWC, that we have been asked to share. If we make a number of ... Thanks for any help you can give me on this. John Nystrom
john_nystrom 312 asked Mar 27, 2024
0 votes
6 answers 510 views
One system gets the message at every starting of Paratext. The message also says, access to path is denied. There is no ... is no BYZ project in the PT8 or PT7 project list.
listentwice 1.2k asked Feb 7, 2019
0 votes
2 answers 627 views
During community testing we are finding it convenient to cast from an Android device to a TV monitor. Since Thursday ... this experience? What might be causing us this issue?
ToddB 129 asked Jun 15, 2024
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
I urge you, brothers and sisters, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them.
Romans 16:17
3,042 questions
6,001 answers
5,666 comments
2,024 users