0 votes
A colleague would like to create a copy of an existing project to adapt it for a different audience (think: a different age group). The original project is still being edited, and the new project will have its own edits. They should not feed into one another. We would like to include all notes and spelling decisions in the new project. (Whether the history is preserved, is less important.) Is this possible? Would Backup and Restore include the notes and spelling decisions?
Paratext by (517 points)

2 Answers

+1 vote
Backup/restore is the best way to create a completely separate copy of a project. It will include everything but the project history.
by [Expert]
(16.6k points)
Thank you! Will try this.
+1 vote
The other way to duplicate a project if you want to keep the history is to use the Menu > Advanced > Convert Project option. This allows you to create a copy of the project with a new short name. Because it also converts the history, it can take a long time to convert an older project with lots of history points.

Fool Running's suggestion of using Backup/Restore is much faster. Just note that if you try restoring on the same computer as the original project you must restore into a new project.
by (9.8k points)
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of their possessions was their own, but they shared everything they had.
Acts 4:32
3,036 questions
5,992 answers
5,659 comments
2,021 users