Yes, the security was tightened on that option. It's a project-wide setting and affects how the checks are run, so it was changed to require being in an Administrator or Translator role to be able to change. If that change is affecting your ability to get your work done, it's probably best to send feedback (Help > Give feedback) explaining how you use it so we can reevaluate the change in behavior.
Also, it is certainly possible to add a keyboard shortcut to that option. I'd suggest sending feedback on that as well. However, I don't think we expect people to change that option very often, so it may not happen.