0 votes
367 views
I recently was asked by a consultant, who has completed his translation and receives requests for his BT, if there is a way to delete resolved notes. He would like to provide the BT as a resource, but not necessarily all the resolved notes in the history of the project. Is that possible, or would he need to create a new BT project to share.

Thanks
Paratext by (418 points) | 367 views

2 Answers

0 votes
How is he wanting to share the project? One option is to register the project and then add  it to the DBL. In this case, the cleanest solution would be to create a new project and import the data into the project.

If he just wants to be able to share a copy of the project with individuals when they contact him, it is possible to create a backup of the project and then remove all of the comments files from the backup before sharing it with other users.
by (9.8k points)
Thanks much, that is what I was suspecting.

Right now, just looking to share with users who ask for the BT.

I guess the best solution would be to import into a new project, and share it that way then, to share a clean file.

Thanks,

Bruce
In some ways the "easiest" way of doing things is whatever makes sense to you. Creating a new project will certainly work.

But in some ways I think what Phil suggested is easier:

1) Go to Menu--Advanced--Backup project to file...

2) Open the zip that just got created (not necessarily unzip it).

3) Delete each of the Notes_name.xml files in that zip

4) Send the zip to other users. Then can use the restore process to get the text into their copies.

One of the advantages of this is that this backup process also loses all the history of edits, which you probably also don't want to share. Create a brand new project would also do that, but it would come with the possibility of creating a history going forward. It does have the disadvantage that you're sharing zip files via email or flash drive, not sharing the project via Send/Receive.
0 votes
If you share the project via DBL, there is no need for a new project or anything like that, because the comments are not uploaded to DBL.
by (872 points)
Thanks everyone for the responses.

At some time we would like to more officially make some things available as translation helps, right now just on an individual basis. Sounds like there are several viable options.

Thanks everyone.

Bruce

Related questions

0 votes
1 answer 150 views
Is there a way to find out if PT consultant notes have been deleted for a chapter? If yes, can they be restored?
listentwice 1.2k asked Aug 13, 2024
0 votes
1 answer 249 views
Is there a way to bulk transfer (ie copy) all Project Notes from one project to another?
anon673293 106 asked Jul 14, 2023
0 votes
3 answers 387 views
A user in a PT8 project has lost all his notes after April 8. I looked at the Notes_(username).xml file for ... only restore text and did not restore notes. Thanks. anon291708 MXB
anon109032 110 asked Apr 27, 2018
0 votes
1 answer 37 views
Is there a way to add and view notes in this platform, similar to how it's done in Paratext? I haven’t been able to find that functionality.
Shivaji 117 asked Apr 15, 2025
0 votes
1 answer 132 views
I am an administrator on a standard project and the project has numerous auxiliary projects associated for which I am not an ... set them all up. How can this be done? Thanks.
Jeremy Lang 103 asked Feb 12, 2025
Welcome to Support Bible, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
I urge you, brothers and sisters, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them.
Romans 16:17
3,037 questions
5,994 answers
5,661 comments
2,022 users